MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING OF THE PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF WATSONVILLE



TELECONFERENCE/REMOTE

March 2, 2021

6:30 PM

In accordance with City policy, all Planning Commission meetings are recorded on audio and video in their entirety and are available for review in the Community Development Department (CDD). These minutes are a brief summary of action taken.

1. ROLL CALL

Vice-Chair Anna Kammer, and Commissioners Ed Acosta, Gina Cole, Daniel Dodge, Veronica Dorantes-Pulido, Lucy Rojas and Jenni Veitch-Olson were present.

Staff members present were City Attorney Alan Smith, Community Development Director Suzi Merriam, Principal Planner Justin Meek, Executive Assistant Deborah Muniz, Administrative Assistant II Maria Elena Ortiz and City Interpreter Carlos Landaverry.

Vice-Chair Kammer and City Attorney Smith went over the Planning Commissioner's attendance and absences per the City Charter.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Vice-Chair Kammer led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. PRESENTATIONS & ORAL COMMUNICATIONS

A. ORAL COMMUNIATIONS FROM THE PUBLIC

None

B. ORAL COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE COMMISSION

Commissioner Cole thanked the City of Watsonville Parks and Community Services Department, Community Bike Collective, Mountain Bikers of Santa Cruz, and all who were involved in the pump track project at Ramsay Park.

Commissioner Dodge shared that he will be contacting the Public Works department in regards to providing proper noticing to residents when projects that affect their neighborhood will take place.

4. NEW BUSINESS

A. NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF PLANNING COMMISSION CHAIRPERSON

1) Nomination Period

Community Development Director Merriam opened the nomination period for the election of Planning Commission Chairperson.

Commissioner Dodge nominated Commissioner Cole.

Commissioner Cole nominated Commissioner Veitch-Olson.

Commissioner Cole declined the nomination from Commissioner Dodge.

Commissioner Veitch-Olson accepted the nomination from Commissioner Cole.

2) Public Input

None

3) Motion Electing New Chairperson

A roll call vote was cast to elect Commissioner Veitch-Olson as Chairperson. The votes are as follows:

AYES:	COMMISSIONERS:	Acosta, Cole, Dodge, Dorantes-Pulido,
		Kammer, Rojas, Veitch-Olson
NOES:	COMMISSIONERS:	None
ABSENT:	COMMISSIONERS:	None

B. NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF PLANNING COMMISSION VICE-CHAIR PERSON

1) Nomination Period

Community Development Director Merriam opened the nomination period for the election of Planning Commission Vice-Chairperson.

Commissioner Acosta nominated Commissioner Dorantes-Pulido.

Commissioner Dorantes-Pulido accepted the nomination from Commissioner Acosta.

Commissioner Cole nominated Commissioner Kammer.

Commissioner Kammer declined the nomination from Commissioner Cole.

2) Public Input

None

3) Motion Electing New Vice-Chairperson

A roll call vote was cast to elect Commissioner Dorantes-Pulido as Vice-Chairperson. The votes are as follows:

AYES:	COMMISSIONERS:	Acosta, Cole, Dodge, Dorantes-Pulido,
		Kammer, Rojas, Veitch-Olson
NOES:	COMMISSIONERS:	None
ABSENT:	COMMISSIONERS:	None

5. PRESENTATIONS AND REPORTS

A. PRESENTATION BY RAIMI AND ASSOCIATES ON AN UPDATE OF THE DOWNTOWN SPECIFIC PLAN

Presentation was given by Simran Malhotra, Principal, Raimi + Associates.

In answering Commissioner Dodge, Ms. Malhotra provided an update on the acquisition of Highway 152 from Caltrans, and a status on the Fox Theatre and Porter Buildings.

Commissioners Cole and Kammer acknowledged Raimi + Associates, City staff, and the Stakeholder Committee for their work on the Downtown Specific Plan.

In answering Commissioner Rojas, Ms. Malhotra went over the timeline for the Downtown Specific Plan.

Chair Veitch-Olson thanked Ms. Malhotra for her work on the Downtown Specific Plan.

Ms. Malhotra, Principal Planner Meek and Director Merriam answered questions from member of the public Judy, regarding the rail trail and future connection to downtown Watsonville.

6. **REPORT OF THE SECRETARY**

None

7. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Veitch-Olson adjourned the meeting at 8:05 PM. The next remote/teleconference Planning Commission meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, April 6, 2021, at 6:00 PM.

Suzi Merriam, Secretary Planning Commission Jenni Veitch-Olson, Chair Planning Commission